Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is an increasing trend in the issue of self-employment in which people tend to work for themselves instead of getting hired by other organisations and companies. This essay deals with this polemical topic and considers whether the debate might contribute to some demerits or not.

Admittedly, these days, societies witness growth in freelancers' numbers. It can be raised from various origins. First of all, the majority of individuals complain about their managers’ attitudes, and this makes them think about being their own boss. When people are self-employed, they no longer have a higher-up telling them what to do or not. Furthermore, they feel more pleasant, for instance, while they are free from obeisance. Therefore, they chose to become a freelancer.

Another argument might be the work environment and its laws. Freelancers select their workplaces and could decorate it as they like. Moreover, there is not any rule to follow, for example, no need to start and finish their duties on time or wearing special uniform unless they are meeting clients. Hence, they feel more contented.

Notwithstanding that, self-employed people might encounter several challenges. The foremost negative aspect of these sort of occupations in multitasking. By this, I mean that if freelancer can not afford to hire others, he or she would not have any choices unless parallel working as an accountant, marketer, and even producer. In these cases, isolation also threatens their life and would lead to emotional problems. These directly undermine productivity, job satisfaction, and compensation. Thus, self-employed people need to deliberate these difficulties.

In conclusion, although self-employment might result in beneficial outputs for everyone, it brings some drawbacks as well.