Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

All over the world, it could be widely said that there is a recent trend for people to choose to be self-employed, and not to work for a company or organization. In this essay, I will discuss points about this theme in aspects of the reason this might happen and the demerits of being self-employed.

To begin with, one of the important views which I would like to talk about is that people want to have a dream that they would become successful in their business in every era all over the world. These days, people can easily have access to various kinds of information, including business successes such as entrepreneurs, by using the internet. For instance, several famous companies such as Facebook, Google, and Amazon suddenly have appeared in the world and these companies can earn tremendous amounts of money. However, it is true that these companies started by one leader with a few people. Getting such information about their success stories from the start to present days, most of the people, who usually do not have special skills and talents with management to organize companies, plan to start their own business and then become self-employed.

Planning aside, it is easy for people to dream of their success in businesses like great venture companies, but it is unbelievably difficult to grasp their success. Furthermore, those who start their own business and become entrepreneurs have to consider colossal disadvantages. For example, the extreme overtime working would happen to them and they have to experience risks about their health. Unfortunately, one of my friends got a mental disorder due to overworking after he started the IT venture business. In addition to this, he had to loan huge amounts of money from the bank, which meant that he had to pay more money back due to its interests and went bankrupt in the end. There are few cases where they can get supports such as grants from governments.

In conclusion, this essay points out that these days a lot of people tend to choose to be self-employed, but they have to think about various kinds of disadvantages before starting their own businesses. As an old saying goes, “Think before you leap.”