Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The vast majority of people increasingly prefer to be self-employed and not being an employee in corporations or public facilities. This essay will discuss the reasons lead people to make such decision and it will then address the question of what possible negative impacts could this kind of employment has.

A growing body of research suggests that one of the main reasons for those who chose to be self-employed is getting insufficient wage. This means that people having serious difficulties to make ends meet are likely to resign their jobs and set up their own business. Mobbing, however, ranks second among the reasons for resigning. To be more concrete, The Times reported recently reported that 77% of multinational companies' workers who are relatively satisfied with their salary, tend to quit their job due to mean treatment conducted by their supervisors.

With regards to the disadvantages of being self-employed, the proportion of people who tried to make their own business then failed and disappointed, is surprisingly more than being thought. In addition, or perhaps as a result, the latter are likely to intend to return their former work, unless they have business capital and client portfolio which allow them to support their "self-employment preferences". Taking Turkey as an example, according to a business survey conducted by Official Statistic Authority of Turkey, %40 of self-employed people surprised when they faced the difficulties of having own business.

In conclusion, although it is widely believe that being self-employed might be a solution of mobbing or unsatisfactory salary problems, it also has huge disadvantageous consequences which are not unlikely and must be considered by those who are on the verge of resign, such as failure and disappointment.