Nowadays, many people receive prescriptions of medication regularly. What are the causes of this trend? What consequences can this have for a person?

Many people today are likely to over take prescription drugs. The driving forces behind this issue are increased concern for a person’s health and doctors who prescribe medicine unnecessarily to earn more money. This trend, however, might lead to several detrimental effects; people may become accustomed to certain medicine and neglect the importance of a healthy diet.

People take medicine more as they become interested in their health. Nowadays, people have more concern about their physical conditions and are relatively acute to medical issues compared to the past. This change in the attitude towards health is beneficial to some extent; however, it also makes people vulnerable to a misbelief that we need medicine to be healthy. Parents, for example, are usually interested in their children’s well-being and try to gather much information. This causes them to be excessively sensitive to children’s little cough and fear unlikely aliments, finally taking them to see a doctor. Doctors are also responsible for the issue as they tend to prescribe medicine too easily. Some of them take advantage of the patients’ fear and their lack of knowledge to give unnecessary medicine, thus, earning more money. Such phenomena are easily found in Korea; doctors in the country threaten people to believe their words by giving medicine and force them to come to the hospital continuously although the drugs are useless to those with mild symptoms.

When it comes to the effects, over taking of medicine might have negative impact on a person’s diet. Relying on medicine too heavily can cause people to ignore the importance of balanced diet. Eating healthy foods and taking various nutrition from them is the first step to be healthy; however, some people trust medicine blindly and don’t give careful attention to their food. This can be harmful and increase the potential of several chronic diseases like eating disorders and diabetes in the long run. Resistance to a drug is another serious problem. Once people become accustomed to certain medicine, they have to take much stronger medicine to relieve a similar level of symptom. Such medicine as antibiotics, one of the well known kind of medicine causes resistance, are proven to bring down the ability of immune system and lead to several side effects like nausea.

In conclusion, taking much prescription medicine is caused by people’s excessive interest in their health and some doctor’s desire to earn money. This can lead to negative effects as people might turn away from keeping healthy diet and they can be exposed to the danger of being resistant.