Nowadays, mass media have a profound impact on shaping people’s idea. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledge that mass media has become an indispensable part in a daily basis, because it not only facilitate the interaction between people in a more convenient way but it is also a useful aid to shaping people’s idea. In my viewpoint, I strongly agree with this perspective due to some aspects which will be discuss in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons why mass media almost occupies a monopoly position on information transmission as a milestone. The fundamental reason is that mass media comprises both printed format and digital format which are widely available today. As a result, citizens have a chance to expose to the news in a more convenient way thanks to the ubiquity of mass media. However, if people become more familiar with it, they will make decisions based on media. Additionally, when people are likely to be affected by their surroundings, they may have a tendency to acquire the information arbitrarily without careful analysis which leads to various risks. For example, there is a great number of false news on the social networking website and this may lead the public orientation in a negative way due to the lack of critical thinking.

On the other hand, in spite of the fact that mass media encompasses a significant amount of convincing information, many people are still skeptical about its accuracy. Firstly, the source of information can be distorted, exaggerated or even fabricated from the truth. Consequently, there is no doubt that people will lose their faith upon the mass media because of imprecise information. Secondly, while the mass media provides a wealth of information but many people still spend lots of time to interact with their families or friends and it is a good way to argue about the news. For instant, members in the family may stay in front of the televisions and share the idea about the topic with each other. As a result, they can keep their eyes on many aspects of the situation more carefully.

In conclusion, I hold a strong belief that people’s idea these days is relying on mass media is undeniable.