Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people meet and talk to their friends online instead of in person. I would argue that this tendency is negative because of some reasons.

The first clear reason is that socialize online leads to social isolation. People concentrate on building relationships using social media confining their time alone at home in their room without meeting other and often this has resulted in social isolation. For example, it might be terrible that one is ostracized, discrimination and unfairly judged by everyone.

Another issue is that meeting people online can be risky. Many individuals tend to use fake identities online as well as hid their real personality. As a rule, they could be swindled and easily leaded to dangerous situations.

In conclusion, communicating on social networks is becoming more common in society, and I believe this is a negative development.