Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behaviour. Do you agree or dis

These days, it seems that more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. This raises a certain question about the integration of newcomers into society. Although there are valid arguments to the contrary, in this paper I will argue that it is the responsibility of immigrants to adapt to accepted rules of behavior in their adopted country, both written and unwritten. The reasons for this are twofold.

Firstly, it is vitally important that newcomers observe the laws of their adopted country for the sake of social order. Imagine the chaos that would ensure if people refused to drive on the same side of the road. It is, therefore, necessary for all-immigrants to ensure that they observe the law in their new country regardless of any differences to laws in their home country. Two further instances of practices which are permitted in some countries but prohibited in others are the possession of firearms and gambling.

Secondly and more importantly, though, in order to maintain societal cohesion it is essential that newcomers respect the social norms of their adopted country. Of course, having a mixture of different cultures and traditions gives a country color and vibrancy; however, I would contend that too much cultural diversity undermines a society by alienating people

from each other. It is my belief that similarities unite people, whereas differences have a tendency to divide. A strong society is a homogenous society with shared values and goals.

By way of conclusion, I believe that this issue is likely to become even more important in the future as border between countries become increasingly blurred. It, therefore, demands out further consideration.