Nowadays movies and computer games containing violence are very popular. Some people believe that they have negative effect on the society and should be banned, others, however, believe that it is harmless entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether violent computer games and films should be prohibited or not because of their impact on society has sparked a public debate in recent times. From my perspective, both proponents and critics of this kind of game and film have reasonable arguments for their opinion which will be elaborated on in this essay.

For some individuals, violent games and films are supposed to be just innocuous forms of entertainment because they are not real. Their figures and events are completely different from reality, so it is more than likely that players will not do any imitation of what happens in these games and films. Rational humans will have awareness of the illegality of some vicious deeds in these sorts of recreation, thus, there is little likelihood that games and films will engender users' criminal commitment. Moreover, according to some studies conducted by Bavelier in 2012 or Colzato in 2010, these kinds of virtual violence are associated with beneficial effects such as improved cognitive function, quick decision-making, and cognitive flexibility. They even can help reduce crime rates because they bring calmness for people who are filled with anger. Therefore, the idea of banning violent films and games should be disapproved.

On the other hand, the advocates of the ban on these brutal recreation forms claim that these films and games can induce damaging impacts on vulnerable minds. Humans can stand a higher chance of having aggressive behavior due to long-term exposure to this sort of violence because their minds are full of brutal deeds and this potential obsession will control their actions, possibly causing their engagement in criminal conduct. This case even is stronger when it comes to children whose undeveloped minds. They have an inadequate ability to distinguish fantasy from reality and consequently have a proneness to emulation of what they see in these films and games after processing a dose of violent content. Therefore it is understandable to believe that games and films containing viciousness pose indirect threats to society.

On balance, films and games containing violence seem to be just advantageous in case their players and viewers have consciousness about what they are exposing to. However, most individuals engage in these content now are children and adolescents who have undeveloped minds, so the government had better impose regulation of who can access these games and films.