Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

It is phenomenal that parents are now having much more higher expectation of success on their children. As I believe the major reason for that tendency comes from the parents’ concern of the children future, I would rather argue that the amount of pressure creating by parents can negatively impact on the children development.

It is indisputable that in today competitive world, being successful at a young age might guarantee a higher chance of success of a person when they reach adulthood. Therefore, as duty parents, it is understandable that the adults will try their best to encourage their children working hard towards the target. For example, in Vietnam, students from all ages are enrolled in extra classes during their entire school time by their mom or dad, since the first day they start at the primary school until only before they get to college. According to many Vietnamese parents, this would ensure for the children the opportunity to get to the best school in which they can pursue the high quality of education and then secure a prospective career in the future.

Unfortunately, forcing children hard on getting successful outcome can bring more drawbacks than expected. Being forced to do something that beyond ability might make children become stressful or even affect their mental health. For instance, if a child is not good at Math, it may be difficult for him or her to be on top of the class in this subject. Thus, in order to achieve the result that would please the parents, the student has to spend an abundance of time of studying Math while always worrying about low scores, and get exhausted as an inevitable consequence. Additionally, putting pressure on the result can also kill the children’s creativity, as they will only focus on how to get the result quickest, not on how to do the task in many new different ways they are capable of doing.

In conclusion, although creating pressure somehow is useful in helping children succeed, it is believed to affect badly on children mental health, the willingness to try and excitement to explore new things of them.