nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants why do you think people waste food what can be done to reduce the amount of food that throw away

The issue that people waste food has become increasingly serious these years in many nations. In my opinion, people’s lack of awareness is the main cause of this problem, and if governments take effective measures, this situation will probably be improved.

Thanks to the development of farming methods, the price of food has significantly reduced and become highly affordable to most ordinary people. When eating / dining in shops and restaurants, many individuals tend to order more food than they need. However, only a small proportion of them develop the habit of packing the leftover if they cannot finish the meal. As a result, it is quite common to see that many dishes are left unfinished and end up in rubbish bins eventually. In Shanghai, for example, the amount of food dumped annually is worth a stunning / a staggering 1.4 million dollars which could feed thousands of people living in poverty in Africa.

I believe that governments have a tremendous role to play in reversing this situation. The significant measure authorities should implement is to enhance the public awareness of the importance of saving grains. This can be done through various means ranging from distributing flyers among communities to playing public interest advertisements on TV. Regarding the content, since most consumers take food for granted, it could include the fact that there are a multitude of people dying from starvation in certain developing countries. In this way, individuals are likely to become more conscious of the fact that they are fortunate to have enough to eat and hopefully change their habit of wasting food when dining in restaurants.

In conclusion, it seems to me that lack of awareness is the major contributor to people’s food wasting behavior nowadays, but this problem can be addressed to a great extent if / provided that the government invests in educating its people.