Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is undeniable that a large number of people these days are sometimes impulsive when buying fresh produce from markets and food chains. As these circumstances are becoming common, massive amount of spoiled items are thrown in the garbage bins everyday. This essay will tackle some of the reasons why some people wastes food and various solutions to the issue.

There are plethora of instances to why other people take for granted the excess fresh produce and extra food that are bought in supermarket and restaurants. Firstly, these items are already spoiled and it cannot be eaten as it can damage someone's digestive organs. For instance, take-away rice meal from a food chain that is stuck in the refrigerator for more than 3 days. Secondly, the items bought in a supermarket that are already beyond the date it should be consumed cannot be eaten because it is already expired. As a result, these products are thrown in the garbage bin and these common items are canned goods and chips. Finally, there are group of individuals who suddenly loss appetite in what they are eating, especially if they ordered a large meal and consumed only half of it.

Nevertheless, there will always be a panacea on how to lessen the amount of food that are thrown away. One of them is to make sure that the items bought in the grocery store especially for vegetables and meats and other edible items are only enough and essential for the family weekly meal plans. Expiry dates should be taken into consideration so that canned goods and other items can still be consumed after a month or two. In addition, instead of throwing left overs from the restaurants, it should be placed in a clean container and donate to homeless people. In this way, food are not wasted and kindness to humanity will be practiced.

In conclusion, purchasing fresh produce and any kind of food in the market and any eating place should be eaten and not put into waste as there are still group of people who are dying to have these meals in order to survive.