Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people rather than living with their adult children Is it a positive or negative development

This is a negative development. It only testifies that our society is going to the wrong direction,where core values have been replaced by shallow victories. Remember that is by bread and shelter alone that we live and such a base thinking of giving our elders a few crumbs of bread and roof to sleep in and shirking from the responsibilities is an unpardonable crime. Do you think that are parents are just a sort of orphans and they don't need anything other than these material sides in their lives?

I am afraid from where such streaks of thoughts and ways of thinking come from.I have searched a good deal of classics in literature to find out which great writer has supported this view. I am not talking about certain sophists who just exchanged their brains for money. See the big picture. See those past. How our parents took brought us up when we we so small that we could not speak nor move independently. Nay we could not even express that we wanted food And in those days we were just crying and our good patent gave us the very type of food tgat is digestible to our system. We were so small then, and our parent took great care to keep us safe from animal,accidents or even some evil members of our society that could cause harm to our lives.I am sure that the idea of putting old people in shelter homes comes from the latter group , those narcissists in society who have no thought other thsn their belly or ego or bank account. Had societies made any major strides from the views of narcissists and selfish humans.Dear friend, what are you after in this life? Are you so foolish not to see that you also has an old age and there is a hearse waiting for you somewhere in the future.Perhaps you may not be believing that there is another world. In case that you believe that everything ends here, don't you feel that living a good life where all the members of our society is considered equally is impirtant. Dostoevsky 's Ivan Karamasov in the famous novel, 'Brothers Karamasov ' declares that if there is no God you can do anything. And that is the start of a new style of rebellious thinking, though the original thinkers were good in their intentions and did not move away from the society's good.Another thinker said, that when intellectualbwuestioning moves to negation we must take it as another way of thinking, but the point is to live. So living is important and so is good living. So is respecting the elders if our society who is the real owner of all the stuff we are enjoying. Who made your house?Just think?Who gave you the fees to study in schools or good institutions and earn these degrees and get this paycheck. And you are sending your very honourable members of the society to old age homes. It is quite a shame that we don't feel the ugliness of such gestures. Those who support these view are the victims of their own myopic thinking and will definitely reap the labours of their views sooner or later. I am not wishing bad for them, but only wishing that they get their faculties straight and in order.

I am yet to meet an old gentleman or lady who is happy staying in such shelters. They claim that these places hsve community living, dance etc. Tell me,who wants to dance when your soul is in anguish.When the mind is in distress the steps ought to digress.

So don't try to convince me by telling that these respected old individuals of our societies who are in fact the backbones of every culture are happy in these cloistered realms. What they really want is love, care, and company with their dear ones in the evening of their life.There is no merit in feeding them and imagining that you are doing the right thing.This is the greatest evil hat has befllen in our society and certainly a negative development.