Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

With people grow older, they need more professional treatment and careful caring which their adult kids may not offer. So some of them go to retirement communities or hospital to live with other people. I believe this phenomenon brings more merits then demerits to both elder people and adults.

There is no doubt that sending seniors to retirement communities can reducing adults’ pressure in providing health caring to their elder parents. Young adults need to spend more time on work for their future promotion so it means they have to spend less time with their family members, their elder parents, mostly. When adult children go outside to work, old people have to stay at home alone and they may feel isolate which may cause mental problems to them in a long term. Moreover, being alone at home also means elder people acquire no help when they meet emergencies such as slip on floor or fall down from stage. So when retirement communities can provide caring equipment and a place for many elder people to chat and live, there is no strange for why many old people want to live in it.

However, send olds to retirement communities also brings new problems. Firstly, it may cause financial pressure toward adult children since some retirement communities need expensive pay. Secondly, old people may also feel lonely and uncomfortable without their kids in life. I believe even if olds live in retirement communities, it also necessary for their kids to visit to them frequently. And I think good caring in communities give more benefits than being abandon at home to elder people. Since dangerous emergency can be avoided and elders can get immediate help if they have problems.

To summarize, I advocate that it can give more advantages if elder people live in retirement communities.