Nowadays, sport is becoming a big business with high earning for professional sportsmen and a lot of companies have involved in financially and in other ways.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is true that thanks to the involvement of business firms, sports has transformed into a prosperous industry with a higher income for athletes. While the advantages stemming from this tendency can be witnessed, its disadvantages are also discernible.

On the one hand, there are two major positive impacts when more money is poured into sports. To begin with, the uplifted earning is believed to assure a good living for sports professions. As a result, not only does it come to people’s knowledge that sports are no longer an unstable occupation, but also inspire gifted youngsters to pursue the industry, which can contribute to more talented athletes. In addition, besides professionals, amateur players and citizens can take the advantage from this tendency as well. Indeed, it is obvious that an enormous influx of money enables organizations to channel their budget into upgrading and expanding sports infrastructure, and this can provide residents with sufficient facilities to exploit and build up their strengths.

On the other hand, sports commercialization is considered to pose challenges to the Olympic ideal. Particularly, financial interest is always distributed unequally, in which winners receive a more favorable treatment, so this accidentally form a win-at-all-cost attitude among competitors. Consequently, if the competitive spirit is taken to extreme, it is thought to diminish sportsmanship, which is overshadowed by cheating. For example, statistics have indicated that when sponsorship for tournaments expanded, incidence of athletes using performance-enhancing drugs increased in a proportional manner. In fact, sports agendas have strictly punished moral character erosion by disqualifying them from participating. However, since the rewards remain abundant, making competitors more likely to turn into crime despite jeopardizing their careers, that measure is not believed to resolve the problem thoroughly.

In conclusion, a massive investment in sports may be beneficial, but its drawbacks should not be overlooked.