Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies
rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to
society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
These days, it is obviously observed that media news concentrating on social and urgent
issues is more popular than positive development. Consequently, many people argued
that this situation brings more detrimental impacts individually and socially. Although
this trend can be positive to some extent, I am of the opinion that its negative effects are
more significant.
On the one hand, it is true to say that when the news is filled with social matters and
emergencies, it contributes positively to the damage reduction regarding natural
disasters. For instance, the development of weather forecast and news programs
provides accurate and latest information in terms of the change of weather, social evils
and current affairs. Thanks to the development of weather-forecasting methods, people,
especially who are residents in the most affected area, have a tendency of being more
cautious and having better preparation for the coming natural threats. Likewise, a high
frequency of reports on social problems such as criminals, social evils and so on brings
tremendous influences on raising people’s awareness, encouraging them to obey the
laws and deterring them from committing crimes.
On the other hand, a focus on bad news and emergencies might pose threats on people’s
mind and society. For instance, the thing that terrorism is increasing makes tourists
become concerned and more hesitate to decide which country to visit. To some extent,
audiences and readers are more likely to be unnecessarily pessimistic about daily life.
Meanwhile, from a social perspective, the risks that children try to intimate these social
evils are existing, especially whom are not educated well. Indeed, being rebellious is the
first signal, then bullying others and even committing crimes in the near future if they
are too affected and addicted to these harmful reports.
All things considered, negatives impacts of media reports on problems and emergency
issues are much more than its positive sides. Consequently, the volume of these news
should be modified reasonably in order to reduce the potential risks and threats on
individuals and society.