Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that
universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students
or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree
with this statement?
In two recent decades, the cost of tuitions in universities has increased
significantly and people have concerned that students who are less privileged or
from rural areas, cannot afford to pursue a university degree / to partake in
university courses. I am strongly in favor of the opinion that universities should
decrease their fees.
Frist and foremost, education is the basis/foundation of any development of
society. There is a direct correlation that the developed countries have high
education quality. Especially their universities can create many doctors, scientists,
experts in numerous fields. Furthermore, these experts assist their countries with
great research, boosting the economy, education, science, medicine, etc.
Therefore, every nation needs the highly educated and productive workforce but
the high fees at universities prevent the opportunities from reaching all citizens.
Besides, students are under great financial pressure, having the less sufficient
learning than they are possible. As we know, there are many students who work
part-time to pay for the financial charges. Secondly, the governments are trying to
reduce the disparities among social classes, enabling us to escape from the period
when only elite could study in universities. Therefore, reducing universities frees
contributes to reaching equality for humanity.
On the other hand, some people state/agree that reducing fees in universities
resemble reducing the value of universities. As the result, universities, perhaps,
are becoming less competitive than they used to and the quality of universities
does not evolve intensively. Moreover, universities are not able to get a lot of
revenue and this definitely has some adverse effect/influence on their operations
in particular and economic development in general.
To sum up, the merits of reducing fees in universities outweigh keeping high
tuition fees. Therefore, the government should pour much more money into
education in the form of scholarships for students.