Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In
what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a
positive or negative development?
These days, the relationship people have with each other has been affected by advancements
in technology. There are several ways in which our relationships have been affected and I
believe that this has been negative.
Relationships have changed in the following ways. One of the major ways is that nowadays
people have more acquaintances and fewer close friends. For example, many people may
have hundreds and thousands of friends on social media websites like Facebook as it is easy
to connect through these websites. However, most of these people are not really close friends
at all. In addition, technology has led to less face-to-face interaction between people. Because
using social media sites has become an integral part of the lives of many people these days
and connecting with others has become so much easier as a result of such sites, most people
spend more time online chatting with their friends than actually meeting them face-to-face.
I believe that the above changes have been negative for the following reasons. In the first
place, people now feel lonelier as they spend more time with the computer rather than with
other human beings. Studies have shown that people need real face-to-face interaction if they
want to remain emotionally healthy. Therefore, the lack of such communication has made
many people become lonely and even depressed. Furthermore, many people who use
technology to communicate with others are gradually losing important social skills. It is very
common for people nowadays to know how to communicate and express themselves using
emoticons or other forms of expression that are common online. However, an unfortunate
consequence of all this is that people do not know how to express themselves properly using
their body language or tone of expression.
In conclusion, because of technology, people have fewer close friends and have less direct
contact with people. This development is negative as it is easier for people to feel lonely
because of this and they are becoming less adept in social situations. Given this situation, it is
recommended that people should seek to spend less time on electronic devices in order to
improve their relationships with others.