Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tendency for the young generation to squander a lot of spare time in shopping centres. While I contend that this trend might exert adverse impacts on youngsters and society, I also argue that this trend might bring about a plethora of benefits.

There are several compelling reasons attributed to why some people assert that allocating more time in department stores might be detrimental to young people. First and foremost, they fear that young people could be addicted to shopping, which results in distracting their attention to study at tertiary education. As a result, their academic performances will be affected. On the societal level, wasting time in shopping centres also puts society at high risks of facing sluggish development. This is because department stores might catch the young generation’s attention, which, in turn, hinders them from enriching their solid background and sharpening their essential skills for career prospects.

Nonetheless, spending hours in shopping malls also brings about some considerable merits that cannot be overlooked. One of the most irrefutable benefits is a stress relief for the young generation. In practice, young people these days are suffering from plenty of pressures at work, including work performance and salary, which motivates them to immerse themselves in shopping malls to unwind. In tandem with this, keeping up-to-date fashion is also beneficial to those who are studying fashion design. This is because shopping malls tend to showcase the latest fashion trends from the outside world, and therefore future fashion designers could enrich their background.

In conclusion, it is plausible that the preference for wasting much time in shopping centres among the young generation might perpetuate in the future. Although I agree with other people that this trend might cause grave consequences for young people and society, I suppose that shopping malls could be advantageous to them.