In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people in many be countries believe it is vital to spend greater amount al money on building new railway lines for high speed trains between cities. Whereas, others opine that the money must be spent on developing transport used by public. In my opinion, I agree with the latter point of view.

On one hand, people who support spending on the larger fraction of money on constructing new railway lines for greater speed trains think that it will reduce the number of accidents caused by these trains and for the smooth movement of these trains. If same railway lines are used for low speed and high speed trains, then it will cause many accidents as low speed trains cannot estimate when high speed trains come to the same railway lines. Also, larger speed trains have to wait for longer time periods if slow moving trains arrive on the same railway lines. Then the advantage of time saving cannot be made by people who travel in fast moving trains.

On the other hand, people who argue that the money should be spent for improving public transport think that this provides more advantages than spending on building new railway lines. Firstly, they think that people can travel comfortably if the money is spent on improving transport like buses or low speed trains.

This way time taken to travel will also reduce as the speed increases with the higher quality of transport. If the money is spent on building new railway lines for greater speed trains, then it will lead to high expenditure and higher crowd on these trains. People do not prefer to travel on crowded transport though it saves time.

In my opinion, higher amount of money should be spent on developing public transport because of the comfort it provides to the public.

In conclusion, more money should be spent on improving the quality of public transport rather than building new railway lines for faster trains.