"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguments states that Tria's tourist industry will improve over long term if they charge people for using beaches. The argument is based on few assumptions. If the assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart. Specific evidence is needed to support the argument.

Firstly, Is there any evidence that tourists will pay the money for using the beaches if they charge more and will there be constant or increasing number of people visiting the island if they charge money? If the people don't wish to visit the island because of being charged for using the beaches, then the tourist industry will degrade instead of improving. In the above case, the argument falls apart. There should be some evidence that many people are willing to pay charges even if they are more for supporting the argument.

Secondly, Will the money which is charged for using the beaches be used for replenishing sand? Will replenishing the sand help protect buildings along the shores? If the more amount of the raised money is used for purposes other than replenishing sand, then it will be waste of money for the tourists and it cannot help improving the tourist industry. If there are rare cases of severe storms in the island, then it will be waste of money if they use money for replenishing sand which reduces buildings' risk of damage from severe storms. Even if the money is fairly used for replenishing the sand and there are more cases of severe storms in the islands, there is no evidence that most of the tourists stay in the buildings along the shores. If there is proper evidence that more people stay in the buildings along the shore and raised money will be fairly used for replenishing sand, then it provides support to the argument.

Thirdly, there should be some evidence that only raising money for using beaches will help improve the tourist industry. There can be some alternative ways which helps in improving tourist industry over the short term. If the alternate ways are not analyzed, then it will take longer time for tourist industry to improve. If many alternative ways for improving the tourist industry are discussed and charging money for using beaches is chosen as the best way among all, then it provides support to the argument.

There should be some proper evidence that charging money is the best way for improving the Tria's tourist industry. The assumptions supported by evidence strengthens the argument. If the assumptions are invalid, then they undermine the argument.