Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that extinction of specific species of plants and animals is the vital environmental problem of our time. While, others opine that there are other environmental problems which are more crucial. In my opinion, I agree with the latter point of view.

On the one hand, people who argue that extinction of plant and animal species is the most important environmental problem think that it will disturb the ecological life cycle which makes human survival difficult. If a particular plant or animal species faces extinction, then other species which are dependent on that specific species for food will also become extinct. As a result, humans cannot find their food in future if species become extinct after another. Also, weather gets impacted if more tree species get extinct.

On the other hand, people who think that there are some environmental problems which are important argue that these problems affect the health of most of the living species in the world. These problems can make survival of the future generations difficult. These problems include environmental pollution of an air and water, global warming. Species which breath this polluted air on which consume polluted water suffer from many health issues. Also, the temperature is increasing in this world which can melt the ice bergs and cause floods. This can also increase carbondioxide content and reduce the amount of oxygen which is vital for the survival of humans and animals.

In conclusion, though some people believe that extinction of specific plant and animal species is the major environmental problem, global warming and environmental pollution are the most important environmental problems as they pose more threat compared to the former one.