In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

people are travelling more than ever before, hence the demand for transportation improvements has been seen in many countries. while some individuals believe that government should spend much money on new railway lines construction, I would argue that money should be spent on improving public transportation.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why new railway lines should be created. The first reason is that trains would be made faster. For those who are highly in need of commuting between cities, it will be more convenient for them to spend less time sitting on a train. Additionally, the fact that people are more likely to switch to using trains instead of using other types of transportation will benefit our living environment. For instance, one may change from driving a car to commuting by trains, thus less fossil fuel emissions are made and the air will be fresher for us to breathe.

On the other hand, I believe improving existing public transport is extremely necessary. first, roads and streets should be upgraded in both sizes and quality. This will reduce the number of unexpected accidents and drivers could feel safe when being on their journeys. What is more, government's spending on building and enlarging metro lines is essential nowadays. Because of the fact that subways serve a huge amount of people every day, there will be less people driving and the question on how to solve traffic jams in urban areas will be answered.

In conclusion, while there are opinions that a large amount of money should be spent on new railway lines construction, I believe that government should pay attention to ameliorate other types of public transport.