In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

In some countries some people opine that money should be used for building new rapid train railway lines. Meanwhile, others think that the money is better to be used for bettering current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter view that it is better to use the money to upgrade current public transportation.

On the one hand, spending money for building new rapid train railway lines is beneficial because it can help support more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that operate, the less traffic congestion will occur. This is because, rapid train can operate swiftly and has its own railway, so it can eliminate the time that is needed for passengers to travel from one place to another place. However, the fare for riding rapid train is usually expensive, so people will not likely to choose them over their private vehicles. As a result, traffic congestion problem will not be eliminated.

On the other hand, using money for improving the current public transportation is advantageous because it can increase the quality of public transportation to be more comfortable and safe for riding. The better the public transportation, the bigger the chance for citizens to switch from their private vehicles. If a lot of citizens choose public transportation over their private transportation, traffic congestion problem will most likely to be eliminated. Moreover, compared to rapid train, the fare of existing public transportation such as Bus and MRT is usually affordable. Hence, the chance of people to switch to public transportation will be bigger and traffic congestion problem will be overcome.

In conclusion, spending money for building rapid train railways is great because it can support more rapid trains to operate, which will result to less traffic congestion to occur. However, because usually rapid train has expensive fare, it is better to use the money for improving current public transportation, which has bigger chance to replace people's choice in riding their private vehicles.