In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Disucss both thes

In several people, several people believe that it is better to use money for building new rapid train railway lines while others opine that the money should be used for bettering current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter view because of several reasons.

On the one hand, rapid train is beneficial in overcoming traffic congestion problem because it has special railway and operates in rapid speed which makes its passengers to arrive earlier than they usually do. Then, using money to build more rapid train railways will support more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that operate, the less traffic congestion will occur. However, even though has great potential in stopping traffic jam problem, rapid train basically has quite high fare which will make people reluctant to switch from their personal transportation.

On the other hand, public transportation also has potential in overcoming traffic jam problem. By bettering existing public transportation, people will feel more safe and comfortable in riding them, thus will make them to choose public transportation over their private vehicles. Moreover, because public transportation such as MRT and Bus usually have affordable fare, people will more likely to be willing to ride them after their quality have been improved. As a result, traffic congestion will be overcome and the money spent will not be wasted.

In conclusion, rapid train is great in overcoming traffic congestion problem because it has special railway and can operate in rapid speed. However, due to its high fare, people won't likely to switch from their personal vehicles. I completely agree that it is better to use money for bettering current public transportation because it has more affordable fare.