In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, in many countries, people think that the governments should affordable constructing and improving means of transport as a priority in their planning and budgeting. While there are persuasive arguments in favour of investing funds on building modern railways, I would argue that it is better to improve the old-fashioned infrastructures of public transport.

On the one hand, some people believe that the construction of the advanced railway lines is of paramount importance. To begin with, such facilities have the potential to provide individuals with fastest and the most convenient way to reach their destinations. Consequently, one can consume without being concern about time, since fast trains can save their time. Furthermore, cutting-edge train technologies are always among safest mode of transport between cities compared to the other vehicles, for example, airplanes and cars. Therefore, citizens are apparently more likely to put their faith on trains. Finally, as a result of population explosion, there is always demand for high-capacity means of transport. Inevitably, the necessity of such vehicles cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, many people express that if the budget is spent on the current transportation infrastructures, it could be far more beneficial. First and foremost, they claim that out-dated public transport can pose a threat to the environment and also human well-being. Thus, it should be improved and, in turn, reduce the amount of damage it can cause. Secondly, as a result of aesthetic reasons, trains are constantly criticised. For instance, a sizeable number of trees should be felled so as to construct railway lines between cities. As a result, deforestation is inevitable.

By and large, notwithstanding the fact that construction of leading-edge railway lines would be beneficial, I am of the opinion that it is better that the wealth to be poured into the improvement of old-fashioned public transportation. Owing to aesthetical and environmental reasons.