In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving the existing public transport.

Transportation plays a vital role in the daily life of human beings. From one's home to one's work place, people utilize the transport system on a daily basis. It is often argued that government should invest great amount of budget on building fast trains than spending money on public transport. In my view, I believe public transport is conducive to the society and its merits outweigh that of high speed rail.

It is irrefutable that speedy trains has maken human life much more convenient than ever. By its high speed, people could save massive amount of time on traveling. Take Taiwan for example, prior to the invention of high speed rial, people used to spend four hours from Kaohsiung to Taipei City. However, the sophisticated technology of speedy rail has curtailed travelers' journey to one hour and thirty minutes. In this way, people could save more time on commuting. On the other hand, high speed rail is pricey for certain people who have financial issues. This is particularly true in Taiwan where the price of high speed rail is nearly three times of national trains or bus.

People believe improving public transport is necessary due to the fact that taking public transport is beneficial to the society. First, it could alleviate traffic congestion arised from private cars. For instance, the increasing number of automobile often induces terrible jams during rush hours. By taking public transport, this issue could be effectively mitigated. Secondly, taking advantage of public transport would reduce the pollution produced by private vehicles. To demonstrate, during the process of engine operating, it generates massive quantities of contaminated gas into atmosphere, which is detrimental to human health. Utilizing public transport could cut down on the emission of harmful gas.

All in all, there are pros and cons in both high speed rail and public transport. I firmly consent that public transport is favorable to the society and its benefits outweigh that of high speed rail.