In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving the existing public transport.

In the world full of flurry and road congestion public transport represents the way of future. While for some it is important to expend a significant amount of money on constructing new railway lines for fast trains, it is still a contentious matter. Proponents argue that money should be spent to ameliorate existing public transport. Investing in both fast trains and public transportation is required and desirable.

High speed trains between cities will benefit the commuters as well as the people traveling for other purposes. Inter city travel for work is often time consuming and tiring which sometimes have detrimental impact on person's job. As an example, i used to drive out of of city everyday for work which was more frustrating than the work itself therefore, i end up losing my job. Less time to commute thus would be more relaxeable and convenient. Also in today's world people are always in haste. Express railways will thus let people to reach their respective destinations be it work, wedding or any family occasion in less time. Rail communication can connect cities and towns that build better communication system.

However, investing on overhauling the existing public transport would also be worthwhile. Firstly, it will tackle the nuisance caused by traffic congestion. Decrease in traffic jams in turn will reduce the proportion of people suffering from debilitating diseases due to emission of carbon monoxide by combustion of petrol. Secondly, individuals will prefer buses and metros over personal conveyance if their quality would improve because afterall they are cheaper and affordable. To illustrate, in India more people use private cars and bikes compared to public transport because lack of facilities provided by them. Therefore, money should be spent to foster the development of buses and metros.

To reciprocate, spending to establish new rails and improving existing modes of transportation is hence serviceable. Both these options will ease public life and traffic and time related issues.