In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

By increasing population all across the world, the importance of commuting would become more and more. However, some people believe that the government’s investment should be spent on building new railway for connecting cities, the others, including me, argue that because of air pollution, it is more necessary to finance for extending and upgrading public transportation.

On the one hand, the belief of individuals who agree with the expanding railways is that, this approach could decrease the amount of road accident and support people’s lives. However, a huge number of people in different countries have died because of road accident, the evidences has shown that only 23 percent of them has happened by cars and the remaining percentages has caused by train, airplane, and motorbike. Building railway especially in some mountainous and rough areas not only is quite challenging and difficult but also needs to implement workers, which many of them have lost their life because of substandard work’s condition in complex geographical landscape.

On the other hand, one of the most significant problems that many countries are facing with, is pollution and the effective solution would probably be increasing the usage of public vehicles. Nowadays, people use their private cars for commuting to work or school as a result of inefficient transportation network and traffic management. Therefore, developing in transportation system by increasing different kinds of vehicles and rebuilding the road infrastructure can convey many more people in much less space than individual automobiles, which helps to keep traffic congestion lower, which in turn reduces air pollution.

In conclusion, while expanding rail lines neither decreases the number of road’s accident nor saves people’s lives, I think allocating subsidies for transportation system can play a vital role for reducing traffic congestion and air pollution.