In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some countries, people believe that a large amount of money should be spent on building new railway lines for high-speed trains between cities while opponents support that operative public transport upgrade is dominant. Although the construction of new railroad tracks has its valid points, I believe that funds should be allocated for the advance of current public transits.

On the one hand, constructing new railway lines for bullet trains will aid and abet citizens to transport more quickly and conveniently. For instance, in Vietnam, instead of spending 2 days to travel from the South to the North by train, one can travel more rapidly with a lesser period of time if high-speed trains constructed. The government now can decide optimal routes to build modern rail lines based on citizen's demand and need, thereby targeting resources will use effectively. However, building new railway lines could cost considerable expense. In particular, to construct new high-speech rail project that requires land acquisition and resettlement, a ton of civil works, rolling stock and so on. In addition, bullet trains may only benefit a small section of the population who use trains between major cities. This is problematic for individuals to travel to rural areas when it is unlikely to use the high-speech train to travel to such places so they will choose the coach.

On the other hand, budgets should be spent on improving and maintaining public transport such as buses, trains and ferries rather than rapid trains. Public transportation is essential for any modern community due to its cheaper and convenient travel for one when living in megacities. For instance, in Vietnam, the buses' subsidy of government assists students to move to schools or universities by bus more cheaper. Public transport development might attract citizens to use such transportation frequently rather than their own vehicles, thereby the environment partly will be enhanced. To illustrate, instead of using own vehicles, more people using public transportation will cut gas exhaust and global warming.

In conclusion, although both viewpoints mentioned have its pros and cons, I strongly believe that the budget should be spent on boosting public transportation instead of new railway lines of high-speech trains.