In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, governments in many countries have to deal with lots of challenges in improving transportation systems. There are also two opposing ideas about how they should do that: one group tends to believe that modern infrastructure such as high-speed railways should be constructed while the other thinks that spending money on existing infrastructure is a better way.

On the one hand, nobody can deny the advantages of high-speed trains. As we all know, they are ideal for people who are in hurry and need to reach their destination as soon as possible. Besides, one of the most important benefits of high-speed trains is their large system of railway lines connecting different areas, which gives us the means to travel to other cities conveniently. So, we can realize that the advantages of modern transportation can be observed in several aspects of life.

However, the biggest drawback of the high-speed train is its expense. Absolutely, the more modern it is, the more it costs we have to accept that fact. But in many poor countries, governments cannot afford to build railway lines because they requires an enormous amount of money. Therefore, it is more suitable for them to redevelop existing transport systems instead. For example, they can extend ways for motorbikes and cars, combined with improving the quality of buses or normal trains. Furthermore, taking more measures to reduce congestion is also an effective way to help people move more conveniently and save time as well.

In conclusion, I tend to think that spending money on existing transportation systems is a better solution and more suitable for many small countries because of its reasonable cost . After all, governments should do their best to provide and maintain these systems for the convenience and com fort of their citizens.