The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem

incompatible with the needs of younger people. While I agree that some traditional

ideas are outdated, I believe that others are still useful and should not be forgotten.

On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are

becoming less relevant for younger people. In the past, for example, people were

advised to learn a profession and find a secure job for life, but today’s workers

expect much more variety and diversity from their careers. At the same time, the

rules around relationships are being eroded as young adults make their own choices

about who and when to marry. But perhaps the greatest disparity between the

generations can be seen in their attitudes towards gender roles. The traditional roles

of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as

necessary or appropriate by most younger people.

On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable to the

modern world. For example, older generations attach great importance to working

hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, and these behaviours can

surely benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other

characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good

manners. In our globalised world, young adults can expect to come into contact

with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever

to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier

lives if they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighbourliness

In conclusion, although the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in today’s world, we should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.