One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantageous of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The new achievements in medical science have positive impacts on human life. Nowadays, thanks to these advancements, people have become more hopeful to live a longer and healthier life. Obviously, there are both merits and demerits to this issue.

There might be possible disadvantages to life expectancy increase. Considering required cares for aged people, families might encounter some problems in terms of medical care. The situation would become more disastrous when due to lack of a supportive family for an old person, he or she must be sent to the old age home. There also seems to be economical drawbacks to the rise of longevity which leads to growth of family and government expenses, including costs of healthcare and insurance. But this is just the half of the picture.

The advantages of increase in the average age of life are noticeable. One outstanding plus point is that most people would benefit individually in that they will have more time to fulfill their wishes and obligations. Seeing this point from another side, it turns out that old people would have a happier life because they can spend more years with their families. There is a further advantage to live longer and it is related to social relationships, owing to the fact that senior members of the society are able to transfer their wisdom and experiences to the next generation to direct them having a better life. It is clear that living for more years can make a sense of joy and liveliness throughout the society.

On balance, for all the negative aspects of longevity on economy and healthcare, I think the merits outweigh the demerits. It is my conviction that prolonging people's lives using medical advancements can influence society in a positive way. As a result, it should be accepted as an achievements of the new age and the necessary facilities must be prepared to minimize its disadvantages.