One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What are the solutions of this issue?

Large cities often face the traffic congestion in almost every corner of the highway. This happens in big cities because of the low quality of public transportation and the large number vehicles owned by citizens. However, the improvement of public transportation and the firm action of owning more cars are the effective solutions.

The first cause of traffic jam in big cities is the inadequate facility in public transportation. Some big cities still have unsatisfied public transportation which makes people prefer to private cars. The train and bus station are quality are still below the international standard, and the public vehicles are still uncomfortable to ride as the crowd and cleanliness are still unsolved. Therefore, the more improvement of these facilities which has been conducted by Singapore should done by other cities to increase the number of public transportation users.

Another perspective worth to mention is the large number of vehicles in big cities. It can be seen that the number of cars doubled in some cities, and it triggered the traffic jam. In addition, the way to get more cars is easy that there is no firm action from local authorities. Towards this issue, the number of vehicles should be reduced by giving high tax of vehicles. This will makes citizens think twice to purchase new cars while the tax is high, and it helped the USA to reduce the vehicles in 5 years.

All in all, the problems which cause traffic congestion in large cities are the low quality of public transportation and the large number of vehicles owned by inhabitants. Therefore, the effective solutions are the improvement of public transportation and the high tax establishment of having more cars. Eventually, those solutions will reduce the number of traffic congestion.