One way to solve the problem of congestion on the roads is to increase the tax on private vehicles. How could this alleviate congestion? What other measures can you suggest to deal with congestion in cities?

For the last few years, there has been an overwhelming increase in the number of private vehicles, which leads to traffic congestion. To eradicate this issue, it is thought that the tax on the individual transportation should be mushroomed. My following essay will clarify how effective the above-mentioned solution is as well as suggest other possible measures.

To commence with, at the first glance, the rise in tax on personal converyance may be a good idea because it helps ease a handful of private vehicles. Nonetheless, it seems not to be high-yielding in the long run. In fact, this method often has adverse influence on the middle class and the poor who have very few means of transportation whereas personal vehicles especially cars are often owned by the upper class who are willing to spend a large of sum on tax to utilize their own conveyance.

Therefore, I suggest several alternatives to alleviate the congestion. Firstly, the government should invest more money to construct more new modern roads as well as reinforce the old and backward ones. Roads must be divided into different lanes for each type of vehicles and annually they need to be checked carefully to ensure the best quality for traffic participants. Finally, strict penalties and laws have to be enforced to punish transportation encroaching on the lanes and carrying overweight which can cause traffic congestion and insecurity.

To encapsulate, I do not think that increasing tax on private vehicles is ideal. Instead, other measures as what I have suggested should be looked into. Maybe, they are more effective than people expected.