Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinks of jobs required?

In recent years, thanks to the advancement of the Internet, online shopping is gradually gaining much more popularity than usual. From my perspectives, this tendency has significant impacts on the environment and the employment as well.

The rapid growth of online shopping affects positively and negatively the environment. One clear benefit of this trend is that it can help to reduce the amount of private transport, especially in urban area. In the past, it would be hard and time-consuming as people had to go directly to stores selling things they wanted even if those stores were in faraway places. However, now, products to different customers can be grouped together and sent to each individuals conveniently and quickly regardless of geographical locations. It will lessen the amount of emissions of exhaust fume from private cars and motorbikes resulting in the fall of carbon footprint as well as solve the problem about the traffic jam in cities. Unfortunately, online shopping might increase the number of detrimental wastes. For example, bubble plastic rolls are commonly used to wrap products so that they will not be scratched or damaged severely which leads to the rise in the level of environmental pollutions such as soil pollution.

In terms of employment, online shopping can create new jobs in specific situations. For instance, on while buying things face-to-face might do potential harm due to the easier exposure to the virus during the COVID-19 pandemic, more enterprises choose to cut down their labor force, therefore there are an increasing number of workers quitting their jobs and staying at home. As a result, they may resort to several online shopping platforms such as Shopee and Tiki to maintain their income and earn their livings. This can easily allow various jobs related to it to appear like delivery drivers. Nevertheless, doing shopping on the Internet can be considered to be one of main causes to the reduction in the number of traditional retailers. More and more people decide to buy online products on the Internet, which means that their traditional retailers will probably lose their daily jobs and become unemployed. This will raise the unemployment rate and place a challenging burden on the government to tackle this issue.

In conclusion, online shopping is gradually dominating other form of shopping due to its convenience. In spite of the existence of harmful influences. I believe that drawbacks can be solved with appropriate policies from the government and online shopping can help clients gain more wonderful experiences from using.