The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences.

What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believes that the most effective way to improve a safety standard of driving is implementing much stricter punishments for people who drives offencively. I agree to the certain extent however there are some definite issues to consider which will be further discussed in this essay.

The strong punishment could help a reduction rate of driving incidents for many reasons. First, the soft penalties combined with unstricted control of the officers could lead to a driver’s ignorance. Since if they break the rule, this recent punishment might not effect to their living or their status. For example, in some country, passing through the intersection without an allowment can be deal by paying a penalty fee which is only as equal as one meal’s cost. Accordingly, the stronger penalty can make people scare of breaking the rule leading to more self-conscious during driving. Moreover, the driver who receive the strong penalty can be an example for others avoiding the offences. A number of drivers who are punished from their driving could rise considerably in the first period of implementing this new policy however it would drop steadily from seeing the example cases of punishment and avoiding to be like that .

On the other hand, there are also any other ways which can be done for driving safe. First, the high standard of engineering in transportation and traffic signs could provide drivers a higher standard of driving. This is because the high standard of engineering design in road construction concerns more about driving safety factors including a slope, surface, and others. As a result, it is much better to drive in well-design roads helping people in easier driving. What is more, campaigns for safety in driving could be held and encourage people for better understanding safety factors when they use the road. Seeing that the campaign lets people realize how danger they have to face if they drive poorly, they might tend to be more cautious when they are on the road.

In conclusion, a strong punishment is not the only way to reduce an incidence rate in the road. However, in my opinion, I consider strictly implement in punishment as the most effective ways due to a scare from the punishment encourages people to follow the law.