Open plan office no walls no barriers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern days, workplaces are no longer limited to simple box office with walls and barriers but extended to numerous designs, with open plan office being one of the most popular. Personally, I find the layout rather beneficial, as benefits do outweigh drawbacks in this scenario.

First to mention, it is privacy that comes as the biggest ‘red flag’. In other words, workers often experience lack of personal space, what is more, sensitive work occasionally appear, in which situation the ability to see each other’s screen is a hindrance. Moreover, as one has to share the desk with another and the room with many others, it seems difficult for them to focus on the tasks. This is particularly problematic when working in call centers, where noise contamination is prominent.

Nevertheless, open workrooms are not in favor for no reason from my point of view. First of all, the structure creates an environment where all co-workers are encouraged to cooperate. Indeed, teamwork is one vital aspect when regarding desk work. For instance, without any form of blockade, communications between colleagues is made trouble-free, thus fast-forward the tasks assigned and boost employee relations. Furthermore, the fee required to build separators are excluded, therefore save the budget to a certain extent. Last but not least, such spaces allow companies to be more dynamic with the designs as well as be exposed to more fluid working conditions. In particular, the model can be easily modified to be suitable for company size, regardless of small or large.

In conclusion, there are few minus points to the idea of open-plan office. However, I favor the concept with evident advantages regarding better cooperation, budget-saving and flexibility.