In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays, congestion is a considerable concern in the globe in general and especially the developed countries in particular. Some argue that laws such as heavy taxation on private transportation should be implemented in order to tackle the issue, whereas the others believe that method would be counterproductive. In this essay, I will discuss about the merits and demerits of establishing the mentioned law.

On the one hand, it is clear that there are benefits by having the individuals to pay more for their usage of personal vehicles. One of those pros would be the instantly positive effect on the traffic system as these people become increasingly less likely to commute on their own. That is because of the economic incentive, as more and more value are added into utilizing public commutations, people whose possess heavy financial burdens would immediately transfer to these means. Moreover, such regulations could generate a tendency in which citizens would prefer not to own a vehicle from the first place. One reason for this is that drivers are attracted by the cost effectiveness from general transportation thanks to the enforcement of strong tax payment for private cars, which leads to a circumstance that family would try not to buy any car altogether.

On the other hand, the cons created from these laws tends to outweigh their pros. Firstly, by imposing harsh restrictions on how much people should pay to drive automobiles, the government would increase the change of rebellion among the society. For example, drivers would have an incentive to damage public commutations to revenge the state for stealing their freedom of choices and their hobbies in spite of the impending fines. Secondly, citizens would lose trust in the state as a whole because of the tyranny methods of decreasing traffic jaws. Although the government can gain favorable short-term outcomes, it would be meaningless if there is hesitation for law enforcement in the long run caused by the respective community. In other words, there are noticeable trade-offs utilizing these regulations to solve transporting problems.

In conclusion, while fixing the current issues regrading to congestion and commuting accidents are imperative not only for a person but also for a whole society, the consequences of tax increments should be carefully considered.