In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all

students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free

for everyone.

To what extent do you agree?

Pursuing university education in recent times, involves paying large amount of money as school fees, which many students can not afford. Some individuals are of the opinion it should be free of no charges. While I agree that university education should not be costly, I do not believe it should be free for all students.

People who argue that studying in the university should be without a cost have one major reason for this statement. They say that through this means every individual in the society will have the opportunity of acquiring university degree, and eventually possess all the necessary skills to survive in the competitive labour market. Togo, a small country in West Africa, is a good example as the government of the nation made it mandatory for all her citizens to go through tertiary education on scholarship. As a result of this, about 78% of the total adult population of Togolese are graduate. Therefore, because of the magnanimity of the Togolese government, almost every individual are equipped for the job market.

Other group of individuals on the other hand, hold the view that tertiary education should not be free of charge for everyone, even though the students should not be made to pay exorbitant tuition. They based their argument that if learning in the university is without a cost, many pupils will have nonchalant attitude towards their study as they are not responsible for the fees. Consequently, many of the graduates would not strive hard to attain academic excellence, and invariably they would become graduates without substantial skills. For instance, graduates from Scoff university, which is located in the Eastern part of Nigeria, are always found wanting in terms performance at workplaces. The reason that was given for this awful exhibition of character was tailed down to the fact that everyone that studied at the university did not pay school fees because tertiary education in the region was free of charge. Hard it been the students were to pay a small amount of money as tuition, perhaps, many would have worked harder in school to distinguish themselves in the labour market.

In conclusion, even though I agree that acquiring university education has come with paying huge amount of tuition fees and many students can not be able to afford it, I think it should not be free of charge for everyone because of possible carefree attitude from the pupils. I believe that if the students were to pay little amount of money as school charges, it will stimulate them to work hard and these will make them outstanding even as graduates.