Task2 question

Smoking tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people with potentially serious effects on their health. Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solution.

These days, there has been a progressive increase in the way youngsters smoke cigarette, which may predispose them to adverse health challenges. Incessant advertisement of tobacco and peer pressure are some of the reasons why youths take to smoking. However, these problems could be addressed by laws regulating companies on adverts, and restriction of adolescents from associating with friends that will negatively influence them.

There are various reasons why young people have increasingly engaged in smoking. Firstly, it could be as a result of incessant advertisement of tobacco by the firm. Most companies are known for promoting their products using celebrities, which young individuals try to emulate. Youngsters are easily enticed mostly by what they see others doing, especially people they hold on high esteem as role models. Secondly, increase in the rate of smoking among youths could also be as a result of peer pressure. Young individuals are easily swayed by attitudes of their friends, which in some cases may have negative effect on them. For instance, teens are always seen striving to be like their mates. Some take to smoking simply because their associates are doing it.

Nevertheless, these aforementioned challenges could be ameliorated by taking some steps. First and foremost, the government should enact laws to regulate the advertisement by tobacco companies. This will go a long way to curtail the use of role models in promoting harmful substances, such as tobacco. Also, on the part of peer pressure, parents should restrict their children from associating with friends who would inadvertently lure them into immoral behaviors.

In conclusion, having considered advertisement of tobacco, especially using prominent individuals by the tobacco corporations, and the negative impact from friends as some of the reasons that have led to frequent smoking among youths, I believe this issue could be solved by government making rules and regulations to checkmate adverts from tobacco companies. Also, parents should watch out on the kind of friends their children move with.