Smoking tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people with potentially serious effects on their health. Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solution.

These days, there has been a progressive increase in the way youngsters smoke cigarette, which may predispose them to adverse health challenges. Incessant advertisement of tobacco and peer pressure are some of the reasons why youth take to smoking. However, these problems could be addressed by laws regulating these companies on advert, and restriction of adolescents from associating with friends that will negatively influence them.

There are various reasons why young people have increasingly engaged in smoking. Firstly, it might be as a result of incessant advert of tobacco by the firm. Most companies are known to advertise their products using celebrities, which young individuals try to emulate. Youngsters are easily enticed mostly by what they see other doing, especially people they hold on high esteem as role models. Secondly, increase rate of smoking among youths could also be as a result of peer pressure. Young individuals are easily swayed by attitude of their friends, which in some cases may have negative effect on them. For instance, teens are always seen striving to be like their mates. Some take to smoking simply because their associates are doing it.

Nevertheless, these aforementioned challenges could be ameliorated by taking some of these steps. First and foremost, the government should enact laws to regulate the advertisement by tobacco companies. This will go a long way to curtail the use of role models in promoting harmful substances, such as tobacco. Also, on the part of peer pressure, parents should restrict their children from associating with friends, who would inadvertently lure them into indulging in social vices like smoking of cigarette.

In conclusion, having considered advertisement of tobacco, especially using prominent individuals by the tobacco corporations, and the negative impact from friends as some of the reasons that have led to frequent smoking among youths. However, these issues could be solved by government making rules and regulations to checkmate advert from tobacco companies. Also, parents should watch out on the kind of friends their children move with.