Rich countries should allow jobs for skilled and knowledgeable employees who are from poor countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Question.

Answer.

In a bid to improve their quality of life, skilled and educated citizens of poor countries tend to migrate abroad. While some believe it is acceptable, I rather disagree because of it’s harmful effect to the underdeveloped nations.

Firstly, The poor countries are drained of their intellectuals and skilled citizens. When these people migrate from their regions to the more developed countries, the poor states lose their human capital. These are the most advanced and promising population who would have contrbuted to the development of their communities. Consequently, these less advanced nations keep falling short of development. For example, the Nigeria health sector’s inabilities to reach a globally recommended standard is due to continued migration of its work force( doctors, nurses, etc) for greener pastures abroad as reported by Omolere et al 2015. For a nation to progress, it must lay hold of her prized assets-the educated and skilled individuals.

Furthermore, loss of cultural values is another effect. Having moved to a foreign land, with time those immigrants tend to forget about their cultural beliefs and values. This is so because they need to adapt to their new environment. Therefore, they forget nearly everything about their native sociocultural heritage. Resultantly, the worlds rich cultural diversity is lost. For cultures to be preserved, employment of work force from underdeveloped nations should be halted.

In conclusion, despite the seeming advantages of recruitment of staffs from third world countries by the advanced ones, I am of the opinion that it should be discouraged for its deleterious effects on the human capital and culture of those poor nations.