Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

In many nations of the world, traffic congestion and environmental pollution, have been on the increase in recent times. Some people are suggesting that by inflating the cost of petroleum, these issues will be mitigated. I completely agree with this suggestion because through this way, there will be a reduction in the usage of fuel by vehicle and large factories.

One of the benefits of increasing the cost of premium motor spirit is that there will be a significant reduction in the number of vehicles plying the roads. In other words, car owners will be left with no other option than to utilize public transportation and even ultramodern trains which are mostly powered by solar energy. Consequently, there will be massive reduction in traffic jams on the major roads owing to the fact that private car owners will opt for another means of transportation. Lagos State, which is in the western part of Nigeria, is a good example. Since the recent increment in the price of fuel, many car owners have been forced to patronise public transport services. As a result of this, there has been free flow of movement on the motor ways without gridlocks. Thus, if the cost of patrol had not been increased, the citizens would have continued suffering from traffic.

Another positive impact of increasing pump price is that environmental pollution will be eliminated. This is majorly true because gas emission from large industries and exhaust fumes released from vehicles into the atmosphere contaminate the environment. Perhaps with the increase in the cost of patrol, some factories would be forced to use other energy sources and also, private derivers would sort for another means of transportation. For instance, in Ghana, a country in Africa, industries make use water source energy for powering the machines because of the high cost of petroleum.

In conclusion, undoubtedly city dwellers have been faced with the growing number of traffic and pollution from vehicles and big factories. Increasing the the cost of patrol will inevitably alleviate these challenges .