In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them

It is often said that in many nations of the world, a good number of individuals are becoming over weight, resulting in progressive decline in their health and fitness levels. This problem could be from lack of adequate exercise. However, it could be tackled by individuals engaging in regular exercise.

One of the factors that has contributed to some people developing obesity in many countries is due to lack of exercise. Many individuals working in some organizations, such as banking industry, are faced with meeting up with targets and therefore, have to work seating at the back of the computers throughout the day and even during the weekend. As a result of busy schedule, they hardly have time to exercise and consequently, are prone to develop obesity. For instance, a recent article published by Nigerian Cardiology associated, showed that 56% of patients managed for obesity are mainly bankers who mostly work round the clock and do not engage in physical activities.

Could there be a way to solve this problem? Certainly yes. One possible way of proffering solutions to curtail the rate at which people come down with increase in weight is provision of gym centres especially, in companies where staff hardly have time. This will enable workers to utilise such opportunity to walk out routinely. To illustrate, in the company that i am currently working, staff are mandated twice a week for thirty minute exercise at the gym centre inside the company. This has helped so many of the workers to have average body size.

In conclusion, undeniably, there are several factors that predisposes an individual to be over weight, of which lack of regular exercise is one of them, but there is also a way by which it could be mitigated, by spending few minutes at the gymnasium which will ultimately help reduce development of obesity.