Some people believe that environmental problems can be solved by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, mankind has been faced with a lot of environmental challenges, such as air pollution, resulting from the use of cars and vehicles. While certain group of individuals are of the opinion that by hiking the cost of petrol could mitigate this environmental pollution, I completely disagree with these school of thoughts. In my opinion, these issues could be alleviated by the construction of railways and introduction of electronic Trains.

Increasing number of cars and vehicles plying the major road, had been noted to cause air pollution. This result from the combustion of fossil fuel which contaminate the atmosphere causing environmental issues. Some people opined that, if the prince of fuel used by cars and vehicle is increased, it will reduce the number of motorable machine. Thus, solving the environmental menace. For instance, in Japan, when the pump price of fuel was increased in 2016, there was a remarkable reduction in the number of cars on the metropolitan area, and also a decreased in gas emission. Hence, by increasing the cost of petroleum, the issues of polluting the environment were solved.

Furthermore, environmental problem could also be alleviated by the construction of railways and provision of electronic trains. This will ultimately reduce the usage and dependent on cars and vehicle for transportation. People could travel by this means. To illustrate, recently, it was published on the national Newspaper, that since people started to patronise the ultra modern train station conveying passages from Abuja to Kaduna, there has been a reduction in the use of vehicles from the destination, as people now enjoy travelling by train. This has lead to curtail the emissions from using cars and vehicles plying the road and has therefore, reduced emission from them.

In conclusion, although environmental challenges arising from the use of cars and vehicles could be solved by increasing the cost of petroleum used by these automobiles, there are others ways like, building train station and use of train as a means of transportation, will help mitigate these issues.