Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

Organized tour to distant areas and community is becomming more and more prevalent. Personally, I opine that although this phenomenon has an adverse impact on the environment, it brings advantages for local people.

The positive aspects of organized tour for local people can be attributed to far-reaching employment opportunities and the development of tourism industry in remote areas. With regard to the former, many people gravitate toward rural areas to find a job to support their family, hence, organized tour can create job opportunies for job seekers in far- flung areas. To illustrate, many people in local areas can become tour guide, which is a well-paid job to raise income for them. On the second point, organized tour can assist local people to develop the tourism industry, thus, the local people can promote the image of local culture to everyone in different regions of country. For instance, in a village in Hue, thanks to organized tour, they can promote their traditional activities for tourists such as wrestling in festivals,etc.

However, organized tour has a debilitating effect on the environment in faraway areas. Since tourists do not foster their awareness in protecting the environment in remote areas, for example, many tourists use cars to go sightseeing around, as a result, the air in distant areas is becoming contaminated due to the exhaust fumes from cars. In addition, the local people have to encounter a new problem in their areas-water pollution. As many visitors discharge trash on the lakes and rivers, overtime, the amount of trash on rivers and lakes increase, which leads to polluted water in faraway areas.

In conclusion, organized tour can be beneficial for local people in some aspects, however, it has had a negative impact on the environment in terms of air pollution and water pollution.