The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many people have recently taken notice that environmental erosion has been coupled with the proliferation in the production of consumer products. I believe a large number of the environmental issues today are the direct effect of overpopulation, hence the requirement for government intervention in the form of sex education.

A factor behind the increased consumption of consumer products is a booming global population. As a population grows, more natural resources are needed towards housing and infrastructure projects; this leads to environmental degradation as forests are chopped down and fossil fuel burnt in order to cater to the needs of extra people. The country of Vietnam, for example, has experienced a population boom in recent years, which could be said to have contributed significantly to its major cities of Hanoi and Saigon being ranked two of the most polluted in the world.

Thus, some argue that we must push for government intervention in education to improve sex education and decrease birth rates. Teaching children on how to prevent unwanted pregnancies through the use of contraception or birth control will not only help to improve the environment, but can also make the lives of would-be parents more comfortable as well. These benefits to the population are why countries such as India and China have launched massive campaigns to curb their population growth primarily, aimed at educating their young citizens to be more responsible.

In conclusion, it is our responsibility to curb the emission of greenhouse gases and the depletion of our natural resources, and we must pressure multinationals and governments into accepting this responsibility of preventing the overpopulation that have made the issue ever more pressing.