The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The rise of consumer goods fabrication has attributed greatly to the deterioration of the natural environment. This essay will shed some light on the precursors and solutions of the phenomenon.

Techological developments and a faster pace of life are the main contributors to the degradation of the environment. Given the advent of new machineries, automation, and manufaturing methods, the use of labor and capital are optimized. This acts as a predecessor for ramping up industrialization. The more land are deployed for industrial operation, the less sustained for natural habitats and biodiversity. Another cause of natural destruction can be witnessed in the shift of contemporary ways of life. Modern people are favoring products that are having a shorter life cycle as they tend to be more convenient and affordable. The abundance of the products made to satisfy such demands means that the waste dumped to the environment is raised accordingly.

Governments’ interference and accessible information should be introduced in order to alleviate the negative implications of the movement. To lessen the impacts of consumerism, governments should impose stricter regulations and heavier taxes upon entities whose wastes are harzadous to the environment. Conversely, eco-friendly production techniques should be backed by the authorities with subsidies and tax cuts. Another approach can be harnessed is making provision of products’ origins, components, package procedures mandatory online. While looking at the given data consumers can voice their concerns about any commondities associated with a dangerous producing procedure with other internet users, therefore together they can decide which products are worthy of their purchases.

In sum, advancement in technology and change in lifestyle account for the damage of the earth. The demerits can be addressed by the alteration on taxes, regulations as well as giving data of products on internet platforms.