Nowadays some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In our contemprary society, many large enterprises have started considering formal academic qualifications as a predominant determiner in recruiting employees rather than personal qualities or life experience. There are a host of reasons contributing to this issue and personally, I believe that this is a negative phenomenon.

There are several reasons why this trend happens. First of all, employers can ensure that they can select out excellent applicants who can contribute greatly to the development of the company . It goes without saying that formal academic qualifications can assist employers to assess the intellectual ability of one person. To illustrate, by looking at the GPA of each subjects of applicants, employers can determine which subjects applicants excel at the most when they were at school. Moreover, through formal academic qualifications, employers opine that they can save resources depending on the ability of each person. This means that with excellent employees, there is no need for them to be trained skillfully anymore, they just need some basic instructions and they can do it on their own. As a result, the resources of the company will be delivered to staffs who have lower abilities.

However, I think that this phenomenon is a negative development. Firstly, life experiences and personal qualities are as important as formal acedamic qualifications. Since employers cannot assess a whole person by just focusing on their qualifications, there are other components to determine whether the employees are good or not. For example, employers have to know the unique features of applicants or whether they have life experience or not to decide whether they are suitable for the job. Secondly, many excellent applicants who have formal academic qualifications but they do not know how to express themselves and do not have any life experiences, as a consequence, this can be difficult for them to adapt to the new job. To exemplify, those employees, although brilliant, can be very slow in doing everything since they are still inexperience.

In conclusion. I believe that there are several reasons why employers prioritize academic qualifications in recruiting employees. However, life experiences and personal qualities are also indispensable parts in selecting out excellent applicants.