Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

In present day, an increase in the number of package tours to distant destinations such as mountainous areas mark a new tendency of the tourist industry. Although this development is beneficial to the local residents in terms of economy and living conditions, it can have deleterious effects on the environment and the social security of these areas.

On the one hand, increasing package holidays to remotes areas is closely associated with the growth of the economy. For one thing, this new trend in tourism can create more employments in the local areas as the job market for tourist-related services frequently need human resources. This in turn provides stable income for local dwellers. What is more, such development in employment rates could be equal to the increase of income tax contributing to the budget of local government. As a result, local authorities can help raise the living standards of people, starting by having important infrastructure established like the installation of water pipes or construction of hospitals.

On the other hand, the development of package tours to remoted areas may act as a detriment to the local environment as well as public security. Firstly, the construction of tourism facilities like hotels can drastically change the landscape of one area, meaning the loss of habitat to local species. Also, massive hordes of tourists scramming to these remoted communities may lead to a serious risk of security as the tourists can have disrespectful behavior to the customs of local people or involve themselves in criminal acts like illegal trafficking.

In sum, despite the advantages the rapid growth in popularity of organized tours to remoted destinations could bring about, it is more likely to exert negative influences on these areas.